The Lightness of Being

And the light flooded my eyes,
driving straight through my soul,
lighting it-a miniature sun-
until my whole being pulsed.
The darkness flushed out,
unquenchable light leaving
no room for shadows. After years
feeling my way along life,
swimming through moonless
night like a sightless fish, unable
even to dream of the bright world
beyond this stifling cave, I
drink the light with eyes,
and with heart, and wait, hungry,
for the first flash to fade, resolving
into the wonder of things I have never seen.

This was the result of the poetry writing prompt from Poets & Writers blog. Here’s a link.

2 thoughts on “The Lightness of Being

Leave a Reply

