Goodbye Fantasy, Hello SciFi

Two genres, fantasy and science fiction, dominate my bookshelves. They are the binary stars of my reading life. The mismatched twins, each with something different to bring to the table, different strengths, different weaknesses. Jacob and Esau, Jekyll and Hyde. Ok, not really that last one. One is not evil while the other good, although what the hell was Dr. J thinking, opening that Pandora’s box with his experimentation. He’s not that innocent.
But I digress. For NaNoWriMo 2014, I wrote a (mostly) complete fantasy novel. For Camp NaNoWriMo July 2015, I wrote the second fantasy novel in what seems to be at least a duo, if not trio, of books in that particular world. This November, I’m abandoning that world for a while in favor of my other love: science fiction. Specifically, I love hard science, near future nail biters. The Martian is my jam, currently. I love reading about the advances in biomedical research. I am cautious about praising advances in artificial intelligence. I watched 2001: A Space Odyssey one too many times.
So, my plan is to tap that interest to craft a story worthy of any hard core SF fan’s bookshelf. Or e-reader. Or holo-book implanted behind the eyeball itself! I jest, but only a little. I haven’t decided whether to go more towards A.I. or an organic creation, but I’m certainly giving myself a few research options.
NaNo Prep starts in September. I can’t wait!

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Fantasy, Hello SciFi

Leave a Reply

